BREAKING NEWS: NBC’s Revolution leaves ILM for the Lone Star State

 

An email went out late last night to the crew of Revolution which revealed the NBC show is leaving North Carolina and heading to Austin, TX for Season 2.

Show creator Eric Kripke wrote:

“To An INCREDIBLE Crew —

Hey everyone. So I wanted to thank you, sincerely and from the bottom of my
heart, for the absolutely amazing work on Revolution Season 1. Time and
again, you pulled off the biggest show on network television. Every week,
we gave you the impossible, and yet you always executed beautifully. You
guys can accomplish anything. So thank you for the skill, the talent,
and for the incredibly hard work– and long hours– and time away from your
families. It means a lot to me, and you have my undying gratitude.

I also wanted to let you know that, unfortunately, we’ll be moving the show
to Austin, TX, for Season 2. This is not a decision that was made easily or
taken lightly. We agonized over it. And we really regret losing such a
terrific crew. Seriously.

Please know that when I have a show back in Wilmington, I’d hire any of you
in a second. I’m sure our paths will cross again. Until then, I wish you
the absolute best. And again, warmly, thank you– for the hard work, and
for your beautiful town.”

So the question is WHY?

I see that some people are blaming politicians, and while I appreciate the spirit, I don’t think it had anything to do with that.  TX’s Film incentives aren’t so hot, either.  Check them out!  From what people are telling me, there are mixed reports.  Some said location scouts didn’t like what they saw in Texas.  Other said the opposite.  I heard they wanted to start back up in June, not September.  Wow!  Texas in June….Good luck with no ocean air!  Poor makeup artists!  Hopefully, we will find out why they left.  I will keep you posted.

14 Comments

  1. The show barely got renewed. It needed a change to have any chance at season 3. The timing of this may actually help the local crews by putting the negative spotlight squarely on the idiotic politicians trying to kill film incentives. The backlash from this decision, which appears to have nothing to do with incentives, may be a saving grace in terms of renewing and extending them.

    As an aside, I felt both hypocritical and uncomfortable being a critic of the show while it was creating jobs here. And i only watched significant amounts of it 2-3 times, but it was incredibly violent and stupid in my humble opinion and incredibly poorly written.

  2. From Austin to Wilmington with love– we were always neck-and-neck with our developing film and TV production industries from the 80s on, and then all of our neighbors pulled the rug out from under us with their giant incentive programs and insta-crews. Trust me, we understand your struggle. I’m impressed with the producers’ decisions not only to film in Wilmington but to then come to Austin too. Maybe they recognize the quality of close-knit, organically-grown production communities like yours and ours. I hope you don’t think I sound flip. We’re very grateful and we hope you continue to fight the good fight and win the recognition you deserve from your state government, as we have struggled (and still struggle) to do here in Texas.

  3. Many of us in the industry welcome the show coming to Austin. We are in much need of good tv/film projects to keep this industry alive here & to hopefully change the lack of incentives that we do have.

    On a side nnote: I for one would love the opportunity to work on this show but I must stress to anyone just leaving their information here in a comment or reply is not the way to go. Please do your homework & contact the production company directly or for actors, find out who will be casting. Be smart.That’s the only way you’re going to do anything on this show.

Leave a comment